Our Vision

The vision of the National Behavioral Intervention Team Association (NaBITA) is to make our campuses safer environments where development, education, and caring intervention are fostered and encouraged.

NaBITA brings together professionals from multiple disciplines who are engaged in the essential function of behavioral intervention in schools, on college campuses, and in corporations and organizations for mutual support and shared learning.

Whether it is to combat bullying, prevent violence, support individuals with disabilities, empower the success of those suffering from mental health challenges, or assist those who are in crisis, our members are joined in common purpose and exploration of best practices.

NaBITA Mission

The National Behavioral Intervention Team Association is committed to providing education, development, and support to school professionals who endeavor every day to make their campuses safer through caring prevention and intervention.

NaBITA Values

Collaboration · Diversity · Education · Empowerment · Inclusion · Integrity · Leadership · Respect

About NaBITA

NaBITA is an independent, not-for-profit association incorporated under the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It has more than 1,500 active members from colleges, universities, and schools. The advisory board consists of twenty-three individuals, as well as an executive body of six. NaBITA’s offices are based in Berwyn, PA.

An active and engaging association, NaBITA hosts an annual conference, an annual Campus Threat Management Certification Institute,  several certification trainings per year, publishes a weekly newsletter, maintains a listserv, and provides frequent webinars to members and non-members. NaBITA is a clearinghouse for more than 180 BIT-related model policies, training tools, templates, and other BIT-related materials. NaBITA’s 2019 President is Amy Murphy, Ph.D. NaBITA’s Executive Director is Brian Van Brunt, Ed.D.


Brett A. Sokolow, J.D.
Founder & Past-President

Brian Van Brunt, Ed.D.
Executive Director &

Makenzie Schiemann, M.S.
Associate Executive Director

Jen Taylor, M.S.
Assistant Executive Director

Amy Murphy, Ph.D.
2019 President

Aaron “Chip” Reese, Ed.D.
Assistant Executive Director &

NaBITA Advisory Board 2018-2019

Joseph Allen, Ed.D., Director of Community College Pathways, National University

David J. Denino, LPC, NCC, Director Emeritus, Counseling Services, Adjunct Professor, Clinical Mental Health Program, Southern Connecticut State University, NaBITA Past-President

Susanne Fenske, Ph.D., Vice President for Student Affairs, Clarion University

Erin Halligan-Avery, Ph.D., Director, Wellness Programs and Service, Rochester Institute of Technology

Lina Ladyzhenskaya, Case Management Coordinator, Crisis Prevention Team, Santa Monica College

Peter Langman, Ph.D., Author of School Shooters: Understanding High School, College, and Adult Perpetrators, and curator of the site schoolshooters.info

W. Scott Lewis, J.D., Partner, The NCHERM Group, NaBITA Past-President

Jamie Molnar, LMHC, Licensed Psychotherapist and Higher Education Consultant

Amy Murphy, Ph.D., Assistant Professor at Angelo State University

Lisa Pescara-Kovach, Ph.D., Director, Center for Education in Targeted Violence and Suicide, Associate Professor, Educational Psychology, University of Toledo

Karen Phinazee, M.A., Senior Dean of Student Development/Deputy Title IX Coordinator, Wake Technical Community College

Aaron “Chip” Reese, Ed.D., Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students, Columbus State University

Adrian Rodriguez, Associate Vice President for Student Life of Diversity and Multicultural Student Affairs, Kansas State University

Makenzie Schiemann, M.S., Associate Consultant, The NCHERM Group, LLC

Christine Schramm, M.A., Associate Vice President & Dean of Students, University of Dayton

Saundra K. Schuster, J.D., Partner, The NCHERM Group, NaBITA Past-President

Brett A. Sokolow, J.D., President & CEO, The NCHERM Group, NaBITA Founder and Past-President

Jeff Solomon, Director of Schools Division, DPREP, Inc.

Daniel C. Swinton, J.D., Ed.D., Managing Partner, The NCHERM Group, LLC

Adán Tejada, Chief & Director, Department of Public Safety, Saint Mary’s College of California

Brian Van Brunt, Ed.D., NaBITA Executive Director and Past-President; Senior Executive Vice President for Professional Program Development, The NCHERM Group

Carolyn Reinach Wolf, J.D., Executive Partner and Director of the Mental Health Law Practice, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara, Wolf & Carone, LLP, NaBITA Past-President

Laura Ulmer, Ph.D., Director of Student Conduct & Academic Integrity, Old Dominion University